Blocking

IMG_8713

I properly love blocking knitting. That slightly alchemical process of wetting a crinkly bit of fabric; carefully, carefully spreading it out and pinning it; then going back to admire it, gently touch it and assess how dry it is … magic I tell you. The lovely smell of damp wool too; sure, it’s probably not everyone’s cup of tea and I don’t think I’ve ever seen it as a perfume ingredient, but for me it’s up there with hyacinths and hot bread as one of my most favourite homely smells.

IMG_8717

I got new pins too. Lovely round-headed pretty little things. They don’t just look nice though, they’re much easier to grab from the box and harder to lose if they’re dropped on the carpet. Form and function. Perfect.

IMG_8715

I’ve heard great things about blocking wires. Think I’ll have to put a set on my Christmas list.

This bit of lace is going to be a cowl. I started knitting it over a month ago but ran out of yarn and then had what might be described as issues getting a new ball. Buying the wrong colour once was a bit daft, buying the wrong colour twice was plain idiotic. The third ball I managed to get right though. At the moment it’s just a flat piece of knitting; once it’s dry I’ll decide how to finish it off. I’m thinking a button fastening all down the short edge, but we’ll see how it pans out. I started calling this my snaw-day cowl when I cast it on and it’s forecast snowy here for the next few days at least so it’ll still be a valid name when it’s done.

3 thoughts on “Blocking

  1. maria

    Beautiful! I have never blocked before…just finished my first cardigan, but have yet to sew it together. Should blocking be before or after? sorry for the silly question 🙂 m.

    Reply
    1. katedorcas Post author

      Hi Maria, Congratulations on finishing your cardi! It’s not a silly question at all. I normally darn in any ends, then block, then seam up. You can block the pieces to the sizes and shapes they should be (according to your pattern), and make sure that the seams are the same size and shape before you sew them together. Hope that helps, Kate x (PS Feel free to ask more!)

      Reply
      1. maria

        Thank you Kate…I will be doing it this weekend! I’ll let you know how it turned out 🙂 m.

Leave a Reply

