A swatch and a bonus

The snaw-day cowl has come to a standstill as, not for the first time, I misunderestimated the amount of yarn I needed. (I believe ‘misunderestimate’ is a George Bush-ism, however I am not going to let that stop me using it. I like it.) I can’t justify going all the way in to town for just one ball of yarn so it will have to wait until I have other errands to run. (Don’t worry, if it takes too long I’ll invent another reason to go in to town.)

In the meantime, not knitting not being an option, obviously, I went stash diving. I came out with some variegated chunky brown that I think will suit Big littl’un. I’ve swatched, planned, and cast on for a simple flat-knit gilet with textured bands round the bottom, armholes and across the shoulders (basically round the edges of all the pieces).

Knitted swatch and part of gilet

A swatch, a beginning, and a helping hand.

It’s always a good sign when the intended recipient of the knitting wants to help knit it!

As a bonus I found in the stash drawer a magazine clipping for a mulled white wine recipe. Don’t ask why I’d put it in the stash drawer in the first place, I really couldn’t tell you. I can tell you that it was worth saving. I think it originally came from Sainsbury’s Magazine but I can’t find it in their online recipe archive so here it is (slightly tweaked).

For two servings I gently heated

  • 300ml white wine
  • 100ml orange juice
  • 100ml lemonade
  • 15ml (1 tbsp) gin
  • 15ml (1 tbsp) honey
  • about 1 inch root ginger, peeled
  • 2 cardamom pods, split and crushed

I even garnished!

Mulled white wine

Mulled white wine

One of my favourite bloggers, Yarn Harlot, is celebrating her 9 year blog-versary. If you don’t read her, go check it out. It’s awesome.

Leave a Reply

