It might come in useful

So here’s the thing. I’m really bad at throwing things away. Just can’t do it. Those rubber bands the postman bundles our letters in? I’ve got a bagfull. Curtain hooks from the curtains that were in the house 9 years ago when we moved in? Safely kept. After all, you never know when they might come in useful.

Worst of all is clothes. The littl’un’s baby clothes especially. Why would I throw them away? We might need them …  one of my brothers might have babies and need them … someone I once met might have a baby and need them …

We’ve got a cupboard where I store all this stuff. All the camping gear, Christmas things, suitcases, towels, spare duvets and pillows; all crammed in to one cupboard with the outgrown baby stuff. (Granted it’s quite a large cupboard but it’s definitely a cupboard, not a store-room. You couldn’t swing a cat in there.)

My lovely cousin is expecting her first baby soon so I went into that cupboard to see if there was anything she might want. It had got a bit out of control if I’m honest, so I attacked it, dragged everything out and went through the lot. Maybe it was because it was the New Year, but I suddenly had the urge to get rid of stuff. Really, did I need 24 baby vests? Nope. There were clothes in there I couldn’t even remember the girls wearing.

There were some things though that I had intentionally kept. I’ve always wanted to make each of the girls a quilt from their baby clothes. They might not be able to remember wearing them all, but I will, and they’ll have photos of themselves in them too.

Clockwise L-R: Big littl'un aged 2 in the first top I made for her from scratch; Big littl'un aged 2 riding on Flint-dog (no longer with us); the littl'uns on holiday in Italy; little littl'un aged 2 in a WWI cemetery in France

Clockwise from top L: Big littl’un aged 2 in the first top I made for her from scratch; Big littl’un aged 2 riding on Flint-dog (no longer with us); The littl’uns on holiday in Italy; Little littl’un aged 2 in a WWI cemetery in France

All those cotton dresses and tops are now rescued, sorted by colour and waiting to be cut.

The blue pile - clothes ready for cutting for quilt tops. Can you spot them on the girls?

The blue pile – clothes ready for cutting for quilt tops. Can you spot them on the girls?

Everything else is bagged up ready for reuse/recycling. A full cubic metre* of clothes came out of that cupboard. The funny thing is, there’s definitely not an extra cubic metre of room in the cupboard now. Go figure.

* I know this because I’ve had a cubic metre of clothes in bags in my dining room for the past week. My nearest fabric recycling bank is full. If it’s not emptied soon I’m going to crack and put everything back in the cupboard … after all, you never know when it might come in useful.

6 thoughts on “It might come in useful

  1. mosaicthinking

    Good on you for having that clean up. Last year i decided I didn’t need to hold onto my supply of those mini shampoo bottles etc that I we often bring home home from work trips and vacations. I worked my way though the contents of the bottles and got rid of them – that felt good.

    I’m sure the quilts for your girls will be treasured – it’s a lovely idea.

    Reply
    1. katedorcas Post author

      My bathroom cupboard is due a sort through as well! I’ve got much better at USING toiletries that kind folks have given me instead of just putting them in the cupboard (I work with kids so often get small gifts at the end of term), I appreciate the presents so much more that way too.

      Reply
      1. mosaicthinking

        Good plan – at one stage I was receiving gifts of soap so frequently that I began to wonder if maybe I had a personal hygiene issue, especially considering that I DON’T work with kids, 😉

  2. Pingback: Knit night | Stolen Hearts, Vintage Souls

  3. Pingback: Order is everywhere | Stolen Hearts, Vintage Souls

  4. Pingback: The sewing machine is still out | Stolen Hearts, Vintage Souls

Leave a Reply

