Done duffers

Don’t get me wrong, there’s nothing quite like the satisfaction you get from finishing a knitting project you’ve been working on for a few weeks (or months).

But for sheer wham-bam-thank-you-ma’am excitement, a project you can start and finish the same night is pretty mega.

Duffers are like that. The pattern title says it all really – 19 row felted slippers. It’s not going to take very long to knit 19 rows now, is it? (Unless there are 3,000 stitches to the row of course. Which there aren’t.) Duffers are simple, satisfying and QUICK. Knitted and seamed up in an evening; if I’d been bothered to put the washing machine on they could have been felted and finished the same night. (OK, I’ll admit I’d got one knitted already, so there was only one to knit last night, but I spent more time watching Oprah Winfrey quizzing Lance Armstrong than looking at my needles so I could have knitted both slippers in an evening.)

Knitted Duffers slippers

Knitted Duffers awaiting felting. The wooden plate was made by my super-talented mid-little brother, Benj.

Sorting laundry doesn’t come anywhere near the top of my list of fun things to do ever on a Friday evening though. So the felting waited until this morning; shoved in with a couple of bits of sturdy laundry for agitation. Big littl’un pulled everything out when it was done. ‘Uh oh’ she said. ‘What’s up?’ said I. ‘Your slippers look a bit small’ she replied. ‘Nonsense’ said I, ‘they’ll be perfect’.

And they were.

Duffers slippers

Duffers slippers

Leave a Reply

